The Mohs Scale of Hardness

Posted by Blog Admin on


Named for the 19th century German mineralogist who created it -- the Mohs scale measures the hardness of minerals. Basically, the 10 point scale gauges the "scratchability" of stones and minerals. It is by no means a balanced scale -- the difference in hardness between 9 (ruby) and 10 (diamond) is greater than the difference between 1 (talc) and 9.

A high Mohs rating does not always mean that a gemstone is also tough. The emerald, for example, has a Mohs rating of 7.5-8.0, yet its crystal structure makes it more brittle and prone to cracking and chipping than members of the quartz family that have lower Mohs ratings. Precious metals -- gold, platinum, silver -- have a Mohs rating of about 4, which means that they can be scratched by many gemstones. Care should always be taken to store your jewelry separately.

Browse our jewelry

Share this post

← Older Post Newer Post →

Leave a comment

Please note, comments must be approved before they are published.